Tea Infused Oil

This is the time of year when I go a bit baking crazy.  I have always spouted, how much I love to bake due to its inherently relaxing nature.  However in my reality, this never happens, a typically spontaneous baking moment usually consists of at least two separate trips to the store because:

A. we forget some ingredient and

B. forgot some additional ingredient not previously seen on the list.

This was just the case the other night when Taylor and I ran out of ingredient number one, oil.  The recipe was for this totally yummy Carmel pumpkin cake by Willow Bird Baking (which is my favorite blog spot currently).

This got me to thinking, of course about Tea.  Why can’t we add chai tea to the recipe to give it some zing?  Typically when I bake with tea, the recipes call for either water or milk, which I use to steep the tea.  Note you have to get the water or milk hot to steep the tea leaves.  I use one teaspoon of tea leaves for every ¼ cup liquid. Then I let it cool back down to room temperature before adding it to the other ingredients.  My problem with this recipe is that there is no water or milk, yikes.  What’s a tea fanatic to do?  How about infused oil?

Recipe for Tea infused cooking oil

  • 4 cups Use a light,  flavorless oil like canola, safflower or light olive oil

In a small sauce pan add 2 cups oil and 5 to 10 teaspoons of your favorite tea depending on how strong you want the flavor.  Heat to 140°F, you can test this with your tea thermometer. Let oil and tea steep together for 5 minutes; remember to stir so you don’t burn the oil.  Remove from heat and allow to cool.  Strain oil into a glass jar and discard tea.  If the oil is not flavored enough simply reheat your first try, adding new tea leaves and repeat the process.  Once you have reached the perfect tea flavor level, mix with the remaining 2 cups of oil.  Use in your favorite recipe.

I am making this gooey pumpkin cake again, but this time I am using I chai to be nice, infused safflower oil.

I would love to hear about any wonderful tea infused oils you’ve made, and have fun.

Tamara

One thought on “Tea Infused Oil

Leave a Reply

